“He was … my friend.”

Just got back from watching the last installment of the Hobbit.  My sisters love the Lord of the Rings, and while I like it and appreciate it, the sweeping epicness of it somehow evades my complete interest.  Which is weird, because I love sweeping, epic tales.

NEW POSTER! Thorin Oakenshield in ‘The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies’

Anyway, I wound up loving the Hobbit movies.  They’re much simpler, and something about that appeals to me.  And, I am slightly embarrassed to admit, I love Richard Armitage, who plays Thorin.  Personally, I think this was the best of the three films.  But I don’t think I have the right to go on about how great the movie was, seeing as it’s so special to so many others.  I don’t want to disrespect it in any way by attempting to rave about it when this story has changed lives.  Unfortunately, mine is not one of them, so I feel that I would be insulting all those hearts that have so grown from Tolkien’s works by my lack of true appreciation.  Please, read this post by Mirriam Neal: http://mirriamneal.com/2014/12/17/one-last-time/  You won’t regret it.

But one of the important things I took away from this film was the relationship between Bilbo and Thorin.  It’s interesting to me that out of all those in his group, during his madness Thorin chose to trust Bilbo.  He’s known him the least amount of time, and despite the fact that he isn’t even one of his kin, when he thinks the Arkenstone has been stolen he immediately turns to Bilbo for assistance, or even just a listening ear.  Bilbo risks his life for Thorin, and cares about him even when the king nearly throws him from the battlements.  Then, (SPOILERS), at the very end, as Thorin lays dying, he uses the last of his energy to apologize to Bilbo, not as a king, but as a man that only wants to right his wrongs.  They have come to respect and love each other as equals, and it’s a beautiful thing to witness.  After Thorin dies, Bilbo gently tries to show him the eagles flying overhead that were coming to save their comrades.  When he realizes that Thorin will not wake up, he begins to cry softly.  He tries to explain to the white-bearded dwarf that Thorin wasn’t a legend, a king, to him, and stumbles over his words before bidding his friends farewell and taking his leave.  But when a fellow hobbit asks who his employer, “Thorin Oakenshield,” was, he says simply, “my friend.”

Thorin and Bilbo - one of my favorite scenes in the movie. I just love their friendship. <3

I grew up without friends.  I had a few until I moved at eight, and for years after that I prayed for a friend.  Just one.  That’s all I asked.  My family wasn’t terribly close at the time, due to very difficult circumstances, and I felt so alone.

As I grew, however, I got to know my sisters and my parents to such a level that I can’t imagine being without them.  They are everything to me.  When people are shocked that we don’t fight, I, in turn, am borderline horrified at the very thought.  Yeah, we have our disagreements, but we get over them and the next day our house is the usual laughter-and-sarcasm explosion that it always is.  My siblings are very mature, and being homeschooled, we’ve had to learn how to cooperate.  We’re always together and it’s more fun than I could ever describe.  I have given so much for them, to the point that they’ve had to tell me to back off.  Even when I had nothing, I had them.  It will always be that way.

Last year I met the most amazing group of girls.  They’re a bunch of crazy writers and they fully adopted me into their pack.  I know I can trust every single one of them with anything, and I watch over them and care for them as my own family.  My mom, who does not like anything social, has even said that if any of them want to come for a visit, our house is always open.  I could never, ever, tell you how grateful I am for them.

(The Pack in a nutshell).

It was through this wonderful, wonderful group that I met Sarah Y. Westmoreland.  (She’s a published author.  Look her up and read her book).  We started Skyping, then talking on the phone, and I can honestly tell you that had never imagined that a friend like her existed.  For years, all I wanted was someone I could call ‘my best friend’.  She totally snuck up on me, but my friend Sarah has changed my life.  My family is hers, her family is mine.  We’re weird.  My sister and she take turns ‘calling’ different characters, celebrities, family members, etc. and adding them to their respective armies.  We giggle over my mispronunciation of ‘meme’ and our mothers call us vain and watch the world for potential husbands for us.  She has Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, I have Hypermobility Syndrome, and she told me not to walk home from work today and I did anyway.  When I told her, and informed her that I was in pain, she reminded me that she knows what she’s talking about.  We’re there for each other no matter what.  She is the best friend I have ever had on this earth, and probably before, and definitely after.

(Sarah with her book!)

Then there’s God.  There is no other friend like Him.  Even when I rejected Him, denying His very existence, He was there for me and brought me home.  I feel His presence every day and have a testimony of His love.  Where I would be without Him, I am terrified of knowing.  For Him, I would do anything, just as He has done for me.  He is my everything.  My strength, my song, my hope, my joy.  He is a friend so flawless, perfect, and present that nothing, not in any place, time, reality, universe, anything! could describe Him.  I love Him.

"Let your light so shine" by Simon Dewey... Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven. ~ Matthew 5:16

(My favorite picture).

Friendship is one of the most amazing things in this life.  It has changed people.  No words could adequately describe the beauty of a true friendship.  If you don’t have one already, I pray that you can find one.  Most importantly with your Savior.  You are everything to Him.

Leave a Reply

